skip navigation

Field set for NSIC volleyball tournament

11/13/2021, 7:45pm CST
By Sanford media relations

The 2021 NSIC Volleyball Tournament pairings have been determined following the conclusion of the NSIC regular season schedule.  The top eight teams from the NSIC Volleyball Standings advance to the single-elimination tournament.  The tournament will be held November 18-20 at the Sanford Pentagon in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.  Tickets are on sale now at or at the Pentagon Ticket Office. 

St. Cloud State (19-1) is the 2021 NSIC Regular Season Champion and earned the top seed. Winona State (17-3) earned the second seed while Concordia-St. Paul (16-4) is third and Wayne State (14-6) is fourth.  There was a four-way tie for fifth, with Northern State earning the fifth seed with the best strength of schedule of the four teams.  Augustana earned the sixth seed as Upper Iowa and the Vikings had the same strength of schedule (better than SMSU’s), but the Vikings won head-to-head over the Peacocks. The seventh seed went to Upper Iowa as they had a better strength of schedule than eighth seeded SMSU.

The NSIC, the Mid-America Athletic Association (MIAA) and the Great American Conference (GAC) make up the 39-team NCAA Central Region.  The top eight teams in the region will advance to the NCAA region tournament on December 2-4 or 3-5.  Automatic bids are granted to the winners of the MIAA, GAC and NSIC postseason tournaments, with the remaining five spots awarded on an at-large basis. The NCAA Volleyball selection show will be streamed online on Monday, Nov. 22 at 6:30 p.m. (CT) on  The championship quarterfinals, semifinals and final match will take place Thursday-Saturday, December 9-11, at the Bob Martinez Athletics Center in Tampa, Florida.

About the NSIC
The NSIC is a 16-team, 18-sport, NCAA Division II conference with institutions located in Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota. The NSIC is a model Division II conference that uses high-level athletics competition to develop champions in the classroom and community while empowering student-athletes to be impactful and positive leaders. Formed in 1992 by the merger of the Northern Intercollegiate Conference (men’s league) and the Northern Sun Conference (women’s league), the NSIC has flourished over the past quarter century, maturing into a 16-team union of Upper Midwest colleges and universities. The NSIC has won 24 team national championships and crowned 81 individual national champions. For additional information, visit

About NCAA Division II
The NCAA, the national governing body for college athletics, is a volunteer association of more than 1,000 colleges and universities that classify their athletics programs in one of three membership divisions. The 300+ institutions in NCAA Division II support a balanced approach in which student-athletes can earn scholarships based on their athletic ability, pursue their desired academic degree, and participate in all the campus and surrounding community have to offer. Division II student-athletes annually graduate at rates higher than their student body peers, and they have access to the best championships-participant ratio among the NCAA’s three divisions. Division II gives student-athletes the unique opportunity to compete in the classroom, on the field, in their career, for their causes, and on their terms. For additional information, visit

Tag(s): Events  News & Media  Volleyball